NASA Launching New Sun-Watching Probe Tonight: Watch It Live1 min read

NASA will launch its newest solar observatory tonight (June 27), kicking off a two-year mission to study how energy moves around the active sun.

A rocket carrying the Interface Region Imaging Spectrograph satellite, or IRIS, is scheduled to take off from California’s Vandenberg Air Force Base at 9:27 p.m. EDT tonight (6:27 p.m. local time; 0127 GMT Friday) underneath a carrier aircraft. The plane will release its payload high above the Pacific Ocean one hour later, at which point the rocket will kick on and blast IRIS into orbit.

You can watch NASA’s IRIS solar obseratory launch live on SPACE.com courtesy of a NASA webcast. The webcast will begin at 9 p.m. EDT (0100 GMT) and be beamed out live via the space agency’s NASA TV channels.

[frame type=”lifted” align=”none”][/frame]

Source: Space.com

Enhanced by Zemanta
SHARE THIS POST
Love
Haha
Wow
Sad
Angry

Sebastien Clarke

Astronaut is dedicated to bringing you the latest news, reviews and information from the world of space, entertainment, sci-fi and technology. With videos, images, forums, blogs and more, get involved today & join our community!
Sebastien Clarke
Sebastien Clarke

Astronaut is dedicated to bringing you the latest news, reviews and information from the world of space, entertainment, sci-fi and technology. With videos, images, forums, blogs and more, get involved today & join our community!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like...

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from Astronaut.com.

You have Successfully Subscribed!